• Home
  • About Us
  • Organisational Structure

Organisational Structure

Te Aō Marama has dedicated group of leaders. The executive committee fulfills both a leadership and management role. Successful nominees are confirmed at the Annual General Meeting and represent a range of oral health professionals from the sector.

Professor John Broughton

Kuia / Kaumātua
Mrs Inez Kingi, Mr Pihopa Kingi, Mrs Areta Koopu, Dr Albert Kewene, Ms Vicki Murray

Life members
Professor John Broughton, Pihopa & Inez Kingi, Mrs Minnie McGibbon, Mrs Christine Rimene, Mrs Astrid Tawhai, Dr Albert Kewene

Executive committee 2017-18

Tumuaki - Leeann Waaka Ngāpuhi (Dental Therapist - Bay of Plenty DHB)

 Samuel (Sam) Carrington Te Arawa, Ngāti Pikiao  (Professional Practice Fellow, Faculty of Dentistry University of Otago)

  Dr. Pauline Koopu Te Whānau-ā-Apanui (Senior Dentist, Auckland DHB)

Dr Tihema Nicol Ngāti Tūwharetoa , Ngāti Whatua, Ngāpuhi (Dentist, Raumati Dental Centre)

Hatea Ruru Te Aitanga ā Mahaki,  Ngāti Maniapoto (Oral Health Promoter, Bay of Plenty DHB)

Atamira Roa Waikato Tainui (BDS5 Student, Tumuaki- Nga Mōkai O Ngā Whetū, NZ Māori Dental Students’ Association, Faculty of Dentistry University of Otago)

 The Executive Committee are responsible for the activities of the roopu, setting the strategic direction of the organisation, managing resources and implementing all major initiatives. The executive committee also represents Te Aō Marama on several influential oral health discussion panels, advisory boards and interest groups.

To contact the Executive Committee, please email  or post your correspondence to PO Box 9893, Marion Square, Wellington 6141.

Te Aō Marama are currently involved in representation on various professional groups, advisory panels and organisations within the NZ dental health sector, namely the

  • NZ Dental and Oral Health Therapists Association
  • NZ Dental Hygienists Association
  • Quality Improvement Group
  • Hauora Māori Scholarships Panel
  • NZ Oral Health Clinical Leadership Network Group
  • AUT OH Advisory Group
  • NZ Oral health Survey
  • NZDA Working Groups

Te Aō Marama are continually seeking forums to which we can advocate on behalf of our members. If you aware of an organisation that we should approach to seek representation or would like to invite Te Aō Marama onto your board we would like to hear from you, please email us. 

More in this category: « History